Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Videocon presents India Youth Icon Awards (Live on the internet courtesy - Press Release

Videocon presents India Youth Icon Awards will be webcast live on and its network of 16,000 plus publisher sites, and several other websites on 1st October at 8pm. In addition to this the embed code for the live stream will be available for anyone to use on their website. is powering the live streaming of the Videocon India Youth Icon Awards with its simultaneous broadcast on television. This live stream is expected to garner some of the largest viewership numbers on the Indian Internet space for live streaming of any television event.

Videocon India Youth Icon Awards is a platform to recognize and celebrate individuals who serve as examples for others to emulate. The awards identify leaders at a young age whereby they are celebrated as icons for others to follow.

The Advisory Board for the event include Kiran Bedi, Venugopal Dhoot, Usha Uthup, Dr Naresh Trehan, Paranjoy Guha Thakurta, Shyam Benegal, Leander Paes and Shabana Azmi.

There are nine categories for the Awards - Private Entrepreneurship, Social Justice & Welfare, Entertainment, Arts, Technology, Politics, Media, Sports and India Youth Icon of the Year.

The nominees for these categories include big names like Rahul Gandhi, Ajay Bijli, Sachin Pilot, Priyanka Chopra, Abhinav Bindra, Priya Dutt, Hrithik Roshan, Omar Abdullah, A R Rahman, Shahrukh Khan, Barkha Dutt, Abhishek Bachchan, Saina Nehwal, Rajdeep Sardesai, Vijender Singh, M. S. Dhoni and Neeraj Roy among others.

The live webcast will take place on 1st October 2009 at 8pm on

The live web stream page will also host a Facebook Connect and a Twitter application. This will enable people watching the event on to post comments and discuss the awards real time and create a viral effect around the event. This effort will ensure that the event is more participative and interactive.

In addition to this, the Facebook community of fans of the India Youth Icon Awards has grown to over 4700 members and they have interacted regarding their choice of the winner with over 1500 comments in the last couple of weeks.

In the past, has successfully live streamed the General Election 2009 (with Zee News) and the Union Budget 2009 (with UTVi) on the internet.

An online video broadcasting network that has content partners such as Star Plus, Colors, NDTV Imagine, Zoom, FTV, MTV, Channel [V], UTVi, Zee News and Live India on board, generates as many as 38 million views daily from 6 million unique viewers spread over 16,000 websites. The video player is now available on a number of popular sites including, AOL Video, Truveo, ICQ, Indyarocks, Bollywood Hungama, Biigpiic, and Facebook. has also harnessed the social media space around blogs and niche websites by allowing the blogger to embed a widget that carries the content from the 26 channels it partners. Hungama owns a majority stake in the company.

No comments: